DIY & Helpful Tips · DIY, Tips, & Tricks · Uncategorized

Doll Hair DIY 

It has been awhile since my last blog post. A lot of life has been happening, including the loss of my grandfather. He was such a gentle and quiet man and will be missed by many. 

Lillian has pretty attached to her God Girl Doll, Faith. She even buckles her in the extra seat in the van. Faith’s hair has gotten tangled – it’s pretty much a hot mess. If you brush it it falls out. 


I decided to research different ways to smooth out and detangle doll hair. I needed to get it detangled so that I could get it braided. I’m hoping to minimize more hair loss. 

I took about a half cap of fabric softener and 4 cups of warm water. We soaked her hair for a few minutes. 


I then used a wide toothed comb and started the long process of combing from the ends to the top. We lost some more hair in the process, but Faith’s hair looks as good as new!


Next time I will try hair conditioner and see if we have better luck with Hope’s curly hair. This is a before picture. We were able to get it combed some what, but didn’t turn out as well as Faiths. 


Do you have a tried and true way to comb doll hair?

Much love!

2 thoughts on “Doll Hair DIY 

  1. Doll hair is tricky! I would’ve never thought of fabric softener. Great job! My girls have some American girl dolls with similar hair. I don’t think they were loved on enough to affect their hair much, Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is tricky! I would wash and style my dolls hair and it never looked like my girls dolls’. I’m certain the quality of American girl dolls are better than these. I would hope, with the cost, that they would hold up to generations of love. 😜

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

