Wellness

A Path to Wellness

I'm going

Hello all!  I know it has been awhile since I have posted.  I really don’t have an excuse, but homeschooling has occupied my brain a lot lately.  I’ve stopped and thought about what my next post would be about and I even prayed briefly, but I didn’t have a clear thought.

I have some health issues and have had constant back and neck pain for as long as I can remember.  Nothing horrible, just an annoying dull pain and stiffness.  About a year ago I started having anxiety attacks, the-I think I’m going to die of a heart attack kind of anxiety attacks.  I’ve always had some social anxieties and would get anxious in certain circumstances.  But these attacks were scary!  They would come out of the blue for reasons I’m not sure of.  And my gut issues… I have been gluten intolerant for my entire adult life.  I have been disciplined with my diet at times and others I have jumped off the wagon head first into gluten filled doughy pizza (oh I miss a good doughy pizza)!

The end of June I had another anxiety attack.  It wasn’t like the others. It was the entire day and it came in waves and my emergency meds wouldn’t help much.  I kept drinking Calm ( a magnesium supplement) as soon as I felt the tightness begin, to try to get after it before it got bad.  Calm had worked for other minor attacks and I didn’t need to take the emergency meds.  I went to bed that evening just exhausted and as I drifted to sleep, it happened again!  Jason (my husband), laid hands on me and prayed and it went away (God is so good).  The next day I stayed home from church (I could hardly function because I was so wore out).  The kids went to VBS with our neighbors.  Jason thought I needed to eat so we went to Panera.  I went against my gut and got a sandwich and I paid for it that night.  I had never gotten sick due to gluten, just bloated, gassy and my face breaks out.  I was sick ro my stomach for 3 days and could hardly function for about a week.

I was introduced to Dr. Ryan at Align Chiropractic. He is apart of the Maximized Living network. They don’t just crack your back and send you on your way (I’ve been to chiropractors like that), they are passionate about helping you establish real health and helping your body to begin functioning properly again.  In addition to the adjustments they talk about nutrition and give you home exercises to do. Patient events give you practical ways to help  better yourself to heal AND be healthy.  ***I’m not a pro on this topic, just sharing my experience*** After talking to the Doctor about my last anxiety attack I learned more about inflammation and how it can affect our bodies.  By me introducing gluten into my system, (when I was already in a sensitive state) it most likely caused more inflammation leading to a more severe reaction to the gluten.

I have been pretty careful about avoiding gluten since that dreadful day (except for my daughter’s birthday cookie cake).  I can play a vital role in my health and wellness.  I can (and will) choose to eat a diet rich in God’s creation and eliminate the chemicals, additives, preservatives, and dyes that are allowed in our foods.  I will drink lots of water.  Will there be slip ups? Most likely, I’m human. When this happens, I will treat myself with grace and pick up where I left off.

I am someone who needs accountability and a plan.  I’m working on the plan part (I need to reach out to my friend Amanda, from Paleo Primal Sweets) and I have some accountability from Dr. Ryan (and his staff), some friends and my awesome husband and I want to stay accountable to you too!  I’m giving up sugar my friends, say goodbye to pumpkin spice lattes, cider donuts, and apple fritters- I love all things fall!  I will update you in a couple of weeks, on my journey.  Please pray for us as a family as we make changes to better our health and that we don’t harm one another in our withdrawals lol!

Learn more about sugar from,  Cooking Without Limits.

Much Love!

~Amanda

 

4 thoughts on “A Path to Wellness

  1. Thanks for sharing. I never realized how much of an impact food has on our bodies (and mind) until I went gluten-free and felt like a different person. I also miss doughy pizza (and many other foods). When I get to heaven I hope God has lots of gluten-filled goodies for us to eat. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wish you all the best and will keep you in my prayers. I know what anxiety attacks feel like. I’m glad you have a great support network in place. Sending you cyber hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

