Family · homeschooling

What a Week!

This week has been crazy busy!  It has been full of appointments, playdates, fun family adventures, and getting the house/yard ready for the school year to begin next week.  I have brief moments of panic, like yesterday when I finally recieved my excusal letter from our local school district.  When those moments hit, I’m instantly filled with peace and a strange calm- a calm that is unlike me at all.  I know that my Heavenly Father has this and without Him I’d be lost and so very anxious.Philippians 4:7.


Honestly, I’m pretty excited for the school year.  I’m excited to learn alongside my kids.  This summer we have gone to the Cincinnati Museum Center, The Air Force Museum, and various National Parks pertaining to Dayton and local intventors- instead of getting our annual Kings Island pass.  It’s fun to watch the kids get excited and really appreciate these kinds of activities.  We have a list that keeps growing; Cosi, Indinaoplis Childrens Museum, and Carillon Park are just a few.  Most of these places offer a teacher/homeschool discount and some are free.  You can also visit most of their websites and find educator guides, homeschool activities, and many other resources.

Our youngest isn’t joining us this year.  She will be going to public school and entering 2nd grade.  I would love to begin with all three of them home, but I was a bit overwhelmed with it being our first year.  We often refer to our kids as the triple threat.  When you add in that third dynamic the atmosphere is completely different and can be DIFFICULT.  She is a smart girl and does really well, she probably would have been easier to start with 😉. Part of me is sad that she will miss out on some of feild trips and learning experiences, but I also know next year will be here before we know it!

What are some of your families favorite feild trips and learning experiences?

Today, I’m praying for all of you and your families as the new school year begins  (homeschooled or not). 

Much love!

Amanda

Leave a Reply

