Recipes

The Big Salad

I love a good salad!  In the last year or so, I asked my Facebook friends for recipes of their favorite salads.  My friend, Christine (love ya, Chrissy!) shared one that even her kids would gobble up!  I was pleasantly surprised when my kids gobbled it up as well!


I have a habit of making recipes my own.  sometimes it’s because I don’t have something on hand and I need to substitute an ingredient, other times I just want to play around with the recipe.  I will share Christine’s recipe with my substitutions next to her ingredient.  I hope you enjoy it, I know my family and I will tonight for dinner!

Dressing:

  • the juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/2 cup of vegetable oil ( I use Extra Virgin Olive Oil)
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper

Combine in a liquid measuring cup and mix with a fork or small whisk

Salad:

  • Grill two chicken breasts & cut into pieces
  • 1 package of bacon, cooked & crumbled
  • 2 heads romaine lettuce, torn into pieces
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds, toasted (I have used pecans)
  • 1 cup grated swiss cheese (I will be using mozzarella tonight)
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 box bow-tie pasta, cooked & drained (I’m gluten intolerant, I use gluten-free mini lasagna noodles)

Combine the salad items in a large bowl and toss with dressing before serving.

A light, but satisfying dinner for a hot summer evening!  Finish the evening with a watermelon seed spitting contest with your family!

Much Love!

Amanda

 

4 thoughts on “The Big Salad

Leave a Reply

