Faith · Family · homeschooling

Perfectly Flawed

260H

I am a flawed woman, but I am loved by a perfect God.  He makes my imperfections right in His sight.  I often struggle with what I consider imperfections, in the person that God created.  I can be so mean to myself, allowing the lies to take root.  That’s not where Father wants us.  In Ephesians 1 we learn that, God chose us in him before creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight.  We are chosen, loved, adopted, freely given grace, we have redemption, we have been forgiven, we are marked with a seal-the promised Holy Spirit, and given a guaranteed inheritance!  Don’t allow the world to influence you, as the person that God has created you to be.  His voice should be the loudest.  His Truths should be what we allow to take root.

This year, I felt convicted to homeschool my kiddos.  There are several reason why we want to give our kids a home education, but the most important is to help give our children a firm foundation in their faith.  I questioned this calling, because I struggle with believing I am smart enough and if my anxiety would get the best of me.  Ultimately, God has chosen me to be their mother and He has called me.  I believe that He equips the called.  I believe He will be by my side.  When the going gets tough, He is my Soft Landing and my Strength.  Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.

I will be recording our experiences here with homeschooling, recipes, faith, family, and whatever life brings us

Much love!

Amanda

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Perfectly Flawed

  1. You are an amazing woman of God whom I am so blessed to know. I know God has great things in store for you and your family. Your family’s lives are so enriched with your love and devotion. Please don’t ever doubt yourself because He will equip you like you said. God will not abandon you. Read and believe in His truths! I will continue to be praying for all of you. I can’t wait to read all of your blogs! I love you sweet Amanda!!

    Like

  2. I am very excited for you, Amanda and so pleased that you are obedient to His calling! Homeschooling certainly has its blessings. I have never regretted our decision to do the same. There will be difficult days as well and on those days you must remember that you are first a mother and second an educator.

    Don’t let anyone put you down or discourage you–there will certainly be “those” friends and even strangers that will add their two cents and it is not always kind! Smile and move on!

    My one and only specific advice to you is to not make Bible a class–do not formally test on it as if the studying of God’s Word was just another subject. Have a time of family faith learning every morning and encourage great discussion. Sometimes my kids and I read straight from the Bible and discussed it and sometimes we used a devotional book. We also kept a prayer journal and checked off answers to prayer. I purposed to use this morning process as a I time that I modeled to my children how to spend daily quality time with my Father. You will be amazed at what those little ears and hearts will pick up. My daughter who was a third grader at the time visited her grandparents and their church. After church, she was being introduced to one of her grandmother’s friends who also mentioned about some health problems that she was facing. My little girl piped right in that she would add her to our family’s prayer list–much to the amazement of both ladies–proud momma (and grandmother) moment right there!

    I will pray for you as God brings you to mind. You can do this–God has purposely prepared your life and your exact opportunities “for such a time as this!””””

    Like

    1. Thank you, Diane! I didn’t want Bible time to be a subject to be tested on. I desire to help them grow in their faith. This is great wisdom, thank you! You have no idea how much your words mean to me.

      Like

  3. I’m not as connected to religion as you are but I still love that you made the decision and I can only tell you how happy we are about having made the decision to homeschool our kids. I will definitely follow your journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

